Periphery has been posting a track-by-track breakdown for each song on new album “Periphery II,” and the band has now reached 9th track “Make Total Destroy.” Periphery’s Misha Mansoor comments:

“My parents are originally from Mauritius, and after my Dad retired a few years ago they decided to move back to Mauritius. Every year or two (depending on my schedule), I go there for vacation, usually in the winter. My creativity unfortunately seems to be very weather dependent, meaning that in the Winter when the weather blows, I find myself writing little to nothing. Since Mauritius is in the southern hemisphere and is a tropical island, the weather is incredible there, and when I go there in the Winter I usually end up writing a bit. I wrote Zyglrox and Totla Mad during one stay. I wrote the demos for Unleash The Pwnies, Chocolate Flobs (for you Soundclick fans!) and the demos for Make Total Destroy and what eventually became Masamune there in another stay. I had been jamming on my 7 string a lot while watching tv, and ended up just tapping a lot of octaves around the fretboard, and ended up writing the song’s first riff, and when I sat down to record, a few more ideas came out but I knew it wasn’t complete. We knew the song had potential, so again while on a “writing retreat” at my place, Mark and I wrote some sections to help the new arrangement flow to accommodate Spencer’s awesome vocal ideas. By the time this song was completed, I knew we had something very special. We ended up making this song the first single because it really seemed to showcase and almost summarize the overall feel and vibes of the album better than any other song. It doesn’t hurt that it is a pretty high energy song and really fun to play live too.”

Mark Holcomb also added, “Although most of this song was already written as a demo on Misha’s SoundClick, he, Jake and I holed up (huh huh) for a couple days writing and adding sections to partially-imagined song ideas like this (Luck As a Constant, being another example of that). I wrote that fast thrashy riff in the middle, while Misha wrote the tapping tail end of it as well as the groove riff that follows it. We made some other changes to the arrangement to better suit the vocal ideas that Spencer had written, and it ended up turning into a far more complete song in the end.”

The album’s track listing is:

1. Muramasa
2. Have a Blast – Guthrie Govan guest solo
3. Facepalm Mute
4. Ji
5. Scarlet
6. Luck as a Constant
7. Ragnarok
8. The Gods Must Be Crazy!
9. Make Total Destroy
10. Erised (Feat. John Petrucci Guest Solo)
11. Epoch
12. Froggin’ Bullfish
13. Mile Zero (Feat. Wes Hauch Guest Solo)
14. Masamune

Post to Twitter

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment. Login »