Manilla Road guitarist/vocalist Mark “The Shark” Shelton will release the debut from his side project Hellwell, named after keyboardist/bassist E.C. Hellwell, who played bass and provided vocals on the latest Manilla Road LP “Playground of the Damned” (2011). The album entitled “Beyond the Boundaries of Sin” is scheduled for release on August 17, 2012 through High Roller Records, a division of Pure Steel.

Shelton commented on the band: “We started the project as more of a one off album but then decided to go ahead and make a band of it. We are even now still adding new members to the group. So the next project that Hellwell will put out will have even more names on it. But on this album the line up is Jonny Thumper Benson on drums and he also plays some guitar and bass and did a little writing on this project. E.C. Hellwell (who the band is obviously named after) plays keyboards, synthesizers and bass. I play guitars and sing lead vocals on most everything but we had some special appearances by Bryan Hellroadie Patrick and Josh Castillo from Manilla Road.”

“Beyond the Boundaries of Sin” is a concept album based on a short story written by Hellwell. The mainman goes on to describe the concept of the release: “Side one of the album is just a collection of songs but side two is a complete concept based on the short story ‘Acheronomicon’ which was written by E.C. Hellwell. He has not been published until now but he has a few other stories that Manilla Road has based songs on before like ‘The Riddle Master’ and ‘Cage of Mirrors’. E.C. came into my life when I was in school way back when and has been a fairly big influence on my philosophical approach to horror. Side two of the album is a trilogy concept that is based on this apocalyptic tale that Ernie came up with not long ago. After reading it I knew that I must put it to music.”

The story also has some traces of H.P Lovecraft, which Shelton adds “I would say there are traces of Lovecraft in the story. There are maybe even more traces of Robert E. Howard in it. E.C. has a style that is based out of Poe, Lovecraft and Howard but it is a bit of a style of his own also. He tends to like to do first person stories instead of narratives. Although I read a part of a novel he was working on at one point and it was a narrative style filled with lots of action. I don’t think he ever finished it though. I should ask him about that one. E.C. has lots of stuff that he should try and get published.”

The track listing for “Beyond the Boundaries of Sin” is as follows:

1 The Strange Case of Dr. Henry Howard Holmes
2 Eaters of the Dead
3 Keepers of the Devils Inn
4 Deadly Nightshade
5 Tomb of the Unnamed One
6 The Heart of Ahriman
7 End of Days

Post to Twitter

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment. Login »