Posts Tagged “Harem Scarem”

Frontiers Records will release the debut album from Swedish singer ANGELICA, “Thrive”, on November 29 in Europe and December 3 in North America.

Best known for being the singer in THE MURDER OF MY SWEET, Angelica Rylin finally decided to pursue her childhood dream and to walk in the footsteps of such amazing singers such as Ann Wilson of HEART, Leigh Matty of ROMEO’S DAUGHTER and Robin Beck and record her debut solo album in a true melodic rock style.

Some melodic rock songwriting luminaries answered the call in order to create the magic harmonies and music displayed on Angelica‘s debut album. “Harry Hess, Daniel Flores, Robert Sall, Alessandro Del Vecchio and Anders Wigelius all contributed,” says Angelica, and some excellent guitarists such as Jesper Strömblad (IN FLAMES), Magnus Karlsson (PRIMAL FEAR), Per Berquist (SMASH INTO PIECES) also appear on the album. There is also a very special performance by keyboardist Matt Guillory (JAMES LABRIE). Still, Angelica wrote or co-wrote several songs on her record, showing another side of her abilities.

“I got the chance to step out of my comfort zone and just focus on being a great singer. I also got to do a couple of amazing co-writes, for instance with Harry Hess of HAREM SCAREM,” continues Angelica. “But what I’m most happy about is that I got to include a couple of my own songs too. It’s a great mix of classic but modern AOR love songs.”

Helped by producer, drummer and songwriting partner Daniel Flores (FIND ME, SEVENTH WONDER, THE MURDER OF MY SWEET), Angelica managed to create a superb album which offers soaring and instantly likeable hook lines, solid guitar riffs and a crisp sound.

“After releasing two albums with THE MURDER OF MY SWEET, I get an opportunity to show my fans a slightly different side of me and at the same time have fun and explore another side of rock music that I grew up with and truly love,” says Angelica. “I have pushed my boundaries vocally on this album and grown as a singer, which is very important for me on a more personal level. I guess this is every singer’s dream.”

“Thrive” track listing:

01. Breaking My Heart
02. I Am Strong
03. To Your Rescue
04. Can’t Stop Love
05. Nothing Else You Can Break
06. Riding Out The Storm
07. Rain On My Parade
08. Losers In Paradise
09. You Will Never Win
10. This Kiss Is Just For You
11. I’m Not Waiting
12. Take Me To Your Heart
13. Breaking My Heart (bonus videoclip)


Comments No Comments »

It’s time to catch up on the week’s new metal releases with our collection of short reviews. This week, we cover Akris, Coldspell, Dark Age, Daylight Misery, Empyrium, Fyrnask, Glamour Of The Kill, Harem Scarem, Invsn, Obelyskkh, Pendulous, Sarke, Temple Nightside, Vom Fetisch der Unbeirrtheit, Vorna and Wolfpakk.

Read Full Post

Comments No Comments »

Here are the new heavy metal CD releases for this week.   For the most detailed and up-to-date schedule, check out our complete Heavy Metal CD Release Date calendar.

September 24, 2013
Akris - Akris (Domestic Genocide)
Angrenost - Planet Muscaria (Code 666)
Another End - Whispers From… EP (Mulligore)
Black Label Society - Unblackened CD/DVD (eOne/Eagle Rock)
Cold Feet Control - Tales Of The Brokenhearted: Part II (Inverse)
Coldspell - Frozen Paradise (Escape)
Dark Age - A Matter of Trust (AFM)
Dawn Of Tears - Act III: The Dying Years (Inverse)
Daylight Misery - The Great Absence (I For An I)
Dream Theater - Dream Theater (Roadrunner)
Empyrium - Into The Pantheon (Prophecy)
Fyrnask - Eldir Nótt (Temple of Torturous)
Glamour Of The Kill - Savages (eOne)
Harem Scarem - Mood Swings II (Frontiers)
Invsn - Invsn (Razor & Tie)
Lustre - Wonder (Nordvis)
Magna Vice - Serpent Of Wisdom (Inverse)
Metallica - Through The Never Soundtrack (Blackened)
Obelyskkh - Hymn To Pan (Exile On Mainstream)
Onslaught - VI (AFM)
Pyhä Kuolema - Kevättuulisormi (Svart)
Sarke - Aruagint (Indie)
Temple Nightside - Condemnation (Dark Descent)
Toiling Midgets - Live at the Old Waldorf, July 21, 1982 (Ektro)
TRC - Nation (No Sleep)
Vàli - Skogslandskap (Prophecy)
Vom Fetisch der Unbeirrtheit - Vertilger (Temple of Torturous)
Vorna - Ajastaika (Inverse)
WolfPakk - Cry Wolf (AFM)

Comments No Comments »

Harem Scarem are set to return with ‘Mood Swings II’ the re-recording of the Canadian rocker’s classic album.

Comments No Comments »

Frontiers Records has announced the release of “Mood Swings II”, the album celebrating the reunion of Canadian rockers HAREM SCAREM, on September 24 in North America and September 27 in Europe.

Comments No Comments »

Best known for spending 17 years as frontman of Harem Scarem, Harry Hess has been redesigning his career as music producer and songwriter.

Comments No Comments »

Frontiers Records has set an August 28 release date (four days earlier in Europe) for the new HESS album entitled “Living In Yesterday”.

Comments No Comments »

Toronto, Ontario, Canada’s WARMACHINE has announced the addition of drummer Darren Smith (HAREM SCAREM) to the group’s ranks.

Comments No Comments »