Posts Tagged “Indianapolis Indiana”

On September 12, The Front Row Report conducted an interview with guitarist Frank Novinec of Connecticut hardcore/metal masters HATEBREED at The Vogue Theatre in Indianapolis, Indiana. You can now watch the chat below.

HATEBREED‘s new album, “The Divinity Of Purpose”, sold 17,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to land at position No. 20 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was made available on January 29 in North America via Razor & Tie and on January 25 in Europe through Nuclear Blast. The CD was co-produced by HATEBREED, Chris “Zeuss” Harris (SUICIDE SILENCE, ALL THAT REMAINS, SHADOWS FALL) and Josh Wilbur (LAMB OF GOD, AVENGED SEVENFOLD), with Wilbur also handling mixing duties. The cover artwork was created and illustrated by Eliran Kantor (TESTAMENT, ATHEIST, SIGH, ANACRUSIS, GWAR) and can be seen below.

In a recent interview with, Novinec stated about the musical direction of “The Divinity Of Purpose”: “We are a universal band like MOTÖRHEAD, where we appeal to rock, metal and hardcore fans, and we feel that we can step outside of our boundaries at times. We did that about as much as we wanted to on the last record and some people were into it and some people weren’t, but there were some great songs in there. I think, definitely, for this one, we wanted it more straightforward; more meat and potatoes. We are a band that has been around for a long time and it is really difficult to come up with something fresh, but I think we achieved that on ‘The Divinity Of Purpose’. More than anything, though, I am really proud at what a solid effort this record is from the beginning to the end.”

Regarding the cover artwork for “The Divinity Of Purpose”, Novinec said: “We had an artist who has done stuff for SODOM and TESTAMENT and others do this one for us. It was kind of a risk, because a lot of people thought, once they saw the cover, that the album was going to be really, really metal, and that is not the case at all. We wanted something different. We are open to different things and experimenting, and we certainly did that with this album cover, but when you look at it, it has the black-and-red classic HATEBREED look to it even though it is something new to us with the painting. I think it is real cool. This is an exciting time for us; everything from having a new album out, being on tour and the artwork.”

Comments No Comments »

On September 12, The Front Row Report conducted an interview with GWAR frontman Oderus Urungus at The Vogue Theatre in Indianapolis, Indiana. You can now watch the chat below.

GWAR‘s new album, “Battle Maximus” — the band’s first full-length studio effort since the loss of their longtime guitar player Flattus Maximus — is set to hit the streets on September 17 on Metal Blade Records.

“This album is both a tribute to Flattus and a telling of the next chapter in the story of GWAR,” said Oderus Urungus. “The combo of the brand new album and show should satisfy even the most hardcore Flattus devotee with the fact that GWAR‘s slay-skills are as supreme as ever, and the band stands poised to embark on our most earth-shattering world tour yet. We have mourned, we have honored, and now it’s time to fucking DEVASTATE in the name of Flattus and the supreme entity that is GWAR.”

Oderus continued: “This is our first record in our brand-new Slave Pit Studios, which Flattus had a lead role in designing, but without him we had no one left to twiddle the buttons, much less play the blazing metal leads and provide the musical direction that rescued GWAR from the depths of clown-band obscurity. I mean, Balsac is no slouch, but Flattus‘ departure left a huge hole in our band. We had no choice. We had to blow the Horn of Hate…”

The follow-up to 2011’s critically acclaimed “Bloody Pit Of Horror”, “Battle Maximus” features twelve brand new tracks that not only honor their departed ally, but tells the story of GWAR‘s latest struggle against what may be their greatest enemy yet… the insidious “Mr. Perfect”, who has travelled through time itself to steal the power of GWAR — the power of immortality, and use this power to mutate the human race into his twisted vision of what the “perfect” human should be. Once again GWAR finds themselves as the only thing standing between the human race and the latest super-powered shithead bent on the destruction of GWAR and the enslavement of their worshippers.

“Battle Maximus” track listing:

01. Intro
02. Madness At The Core Of Time
03. Bloodbath
04. Nothing Left Alive
05. They Swallowed The Sun
06. Torture
07. Raped At Birth
08. I, Bonesnapper
09. Mr. Perfect
10. Battle Maximus
11. Triumph Of The Pig Children
12. Falling
13. Fly Now

Comments No Comments » has uploaded video footage of ’80s hard rock queen Lita Ford performing an impromptu version of her hit song “Close My Eyes Forever” with a fan during the most recent Days Of The Dead horror convention, which was held in early July in Indianapolis, Indiana. Check out the clip below.

Lita last year revealed that “Close My Eyes Forever” came about by accident during a night of drinking and getting stoned when she was being managed by Ozzy Osbourne‘s wife, Sharon. She recalled to Metal Underground: “‘Close My Eyes Forever’ was a mistake. It was just me and Ozzy and Sharon hanging about in the recording studio. They showed up one day and had a housewarming present for me: a life-size duplicate of Koko, the gorilla from the San Diego Zoo. It was freaking huge — I had to strap it in the front seat of my jeep to get it home. Ozzy stayed, Sharon got bored and left, and me and Ozzy had a couple of drinks and we were jamming. We started singing, messing about and we wrote ‘Close My Eyes Forever’. Next thing I knew the sun was coming up. I looked at him and went, ‘Uh-oh, we’re in trouble.’ Sharon had been waiting all night. We were a long way from where Ozzy had to go. He said, ‘Can you drive me home?’ I said, ‘No, I can’t.’ We were stoned out of our minds. He got into a cab and I strapped Koko into my jeep and drove home — just barely made it. And then we had this hit song.”

Lita Ford has set “The Bitch Is Back… Live” as the title of her new live album, due on October 28 via SPV/Steamhammer.

Lita‘s latest solo album, “Living Like A Runaway”, was released on June 19, 2012 in North America via SPV/Steamhammer. The effort was made available in four configurations: a double LP, limited-edition CD, standard CD and digital download. The artwork for the album was created by famed rock photographer Mark Weiss.

Comments No Comments »

In the three-minute video clip below, DEF LEPPARD drummer Rick Allen’s drum tech Jeff gives the viewer a quick tour of Rick’s kit during the 2012 Rock Of Ages tour in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Comments No Comments »

On September 8, Indianapolis, Indiana radio station WRZX 103.3 FM conducted an interview with STAIND frontman Aaron Lewis at the Indianapolis stop of the Rockstar Energy Drink Uproar Festival.

Comments No Comments »

Fan-filmed video footage of IRON MAIDEN’s July 19 concert at Klipsch Music Center in Indianapolis, Indiana can be seen below.

Comments No Comments »

Original KISS guitarist Ace Frehley has announced four summer tour dates as well as a three-day appearance at the Days Of The Dead event in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Comments No Comments »

KISS guitarist Tommy Thayer and drummer Eric Singer were the special guests at the 2012 Indianapolis KISS Fan Expo, which took place this past Saturday, May 12 at the Marriott East hotel in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Comments No Comments »

Fan-filmed video footage of Van Halen’s entire February 22 performance at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana can be seen now.

Comments No Comments »

Fan-filmed video footage of VAN HALEN’s entire February 22 performance at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana can be seen below.

Comments No Comments »