Posts Tagged “Norway”

The new, self-titled album from Norwegian black metallers SATYRICON sold around 1,600 copies in the United States in its first week of release. This is roughly in line with the opening-week performance of the band’s previous CD, “The Age of Nero”, which premiered with 1,700 units back in November 2008.

“Satyricon” debuted at position No. 1 on the official chart in the band’s home country — the first time one of the group’s releases has topped the chart in Norway. “Satyricon” has also seen success internationally, debuting at No. 6 in Finland, No. 23 in Germany and No. 26 in Austria. By comparison, SATYRICON‘s previous studio album, “2008’a “The Age Of Nero”, entered the chart at No. 5 in Norway and No. 73 in Germany.

Comments SATYRICON vocalist Sigurd “Satyr” Wongraven: “SATYRICON fans have shown that there is still room for authentic music with an analog sound. They have shown it to the degree that it has given us formidable chart positions in very competitive European markets and in Norway a Number 1 record. It is the most important record that we have done and now our fans are clearly sending out a very strong message by getting behind it. We are very thankful and proud.”

“Satyricon” was recorded in Norway between January and May 2013 and was produced by Satyr. Mixing took place in Seattle by Adam Kasper and Satyr.

Speaking to Noisecreep at this year’s Inferno festival, Satyr stated about SATYRICON‘s new album: “To me, it sounds very authentic, it’s organic-sounding. And in this digital age where music is mostly played through computers, a lot of that analog vibe gets lost in translation when you play music through medias like that, but I still wanna do it because there’s nothing quite like it. To me, it just makes everything sound the way it’s supposed to sound — it’s dynamical; the music is alive, it’s not overly compressed, the levels are not pushed. So, musically speaking, it’s a very atmospheric record… This record is full of life. There are a lot of surprises here, but I think it’s gonna be a record that’s gonna help the black metal movement perhaps find a new way for the future.”


Comments No Comments »

Norway’s celestial dark rock outfit Ulver has launched a teaser trailer for upcoming album “Messe I.X – IV.X.” Check it out below. “Messe I.X – IV.X” is due out on October 8th via Kscope. The album will be available as a vinyl, download, and CD, which also features a 5.1 surround mix of the album

The post Ulver Launches Teaser For New Album “Messe I.X – IV.X” appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

“Evig Vandrar”, the new video from Norwegian rockers KVELERTAK, can be seen below. The animated clip was helmed by Torjus Førre Erfjord, who also worked on the band’s video for the song “Blodtørst”.

“Evig Vandrar” comes off KVELERTAK‘s sophomore album, “Meir”, which topped the official chart in Norway. The CD, which sold 1,800 copies in the United States in its first week of release, was issued on March 26 via Roadrunner Records. It was produced by CONVERGE‘s Kurt Ballou and features cover artwork by John Dyer Baizley.

“It is both catchy and heavy; we’re pushing our limits in both ends of that spectre. It’s very varied and there are a lot of surprises in store. I mean, it’s unlike anything I myself have heard before, so we even managed to surprise ourselves,” said vocalist Erlend Hjelvik.

KVELERTAK is Erlend Hjelvik (vocals), Vidar Landa (guitars), Bjarte Lund Rolland (guitars), Maciek Ofstad (guitars), Marvin Nygaard (bass) and Kjetil Gjermundrød (drums).

Comments No Comments »

Beaten To Death

Beaten To Death: suspend all rational thought

Grindcore fans, and fans of mentalist heavy metal in general, rejoice, because Norway’s nirvana-inducing noise experts, Beaten To Death have wisely chosen Metal Hammer as exclusive hosts to stream their forthcoming album, Dødsfest! – out on October 4 via Mas-Kina Recordings – in full.

Fronted by She Said Destroy’s Anders ‘Ugmod’ Bakke, this is ADD-enhanced grindcore running headlong through the looking glass, and yet also strangely accessible. If you’re a fan of Rolo Tomassi, The Locust, Brutal Truth, moshing like a maniac or the sensation of being eaten alive by seriously tripping, exhibitionist lions, this album is going to blow your mind. Check it out below!

Pre-order the limited edition 12-inch vinyl here.

And check out Beaten To Death’s own Facebook page here.

Comments No Comments »

Norway's Shining apparently just set up on the grounds of a ruin building and played "I Won't Forget" off their One One One record. The instrumental work is spot on, but the vocals need some serious work… compared to the record? Big work. Sick show though! The band's US tour kicks off next week.

The post SHINING "I Won't Forget" Impromptu Live Performance appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

After the release of the “Goat Skull Crown” single , Obliteration has announced new album “Black Death Horizon” is due out November 8th in Norway and November 11th internationally via Indie Recordings.

The post Obliteration Announces “Black Death Horizon” Album Release appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

Nils K. Rue of Pagan's Mind can sing his ass off, and apparently the Norwegian ersion of The Voice's judges think so too. Rue got chosen by two of the four judges for his killer performance of "Run to the Hills," which just goes to show that Norway is awesome. Congrats Nils! We're all rooting …

The post PAGAN'S MIND Singer Auditions For Norway's The Voice With IRON MAIDEN Cover appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Singer Tony Harnell (pictured below) has shot down reports of his reunion with Norwegian hard rockers TNT as “a bit premature.”

TNT guitarist Ronni Le Tekrø has confirmed to Norway’s TV 2 that the band has parted ways with its frontman of the past seven years, British vocalist Tony Mills (ex-SHY).

Comments No Comments »

International symphonic metal band Suncrown posted a new music video for the track “The Beginning is Near.” The track appears on the upcoming release “You’re Not Alone,” the band’s second album, which is expected to drop this year. Suncrown is: Darren Crisp (USA) – Vocals Juliana Furlani (Brazil) – Vocals Oleg Biblyi (Ukraine) – Keys, Symphonic arrangements Tim Zuidberg (Netherlands) – Drums Sindre Myskja (Norway) – Lead Guitar Kevin Ellerby (USA) – Rhythm Guitar Ederson Prado (Brazil) – Bass Guitar Ugur Kerem Cemiloglu (Turkey) – Flute

The post New Music Video “The Beginning Is Near” Posted By Suncrown appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

Vicotnik (a.k.a.

Comments No Comments »