Posts Tagged “Progressive Metal Band”

The official lyric video for the song “Alive” from GHOST SHIP OCTAVIUS, the new progressive metal band formed by lead guitarist Matt Wicklund (GOD FORBID, HIMSA, WARREL DANE), drummer Van Williams (NEVERMORE, ASHES OF ARES, PURE SWEET HELL) and vocalist Adōn Fanion, can be seen below.

The band’s sound features technical and groove metal elements, highlighted by Adōn‘s powerful clean vocals, Van‘s tasteful rhythms and Matt‘s melodic and intricate guitar solos.

GHOST SHIP OCTAVIUS has finished writing material for its as-yet-untitled debut full-length album and is currently working with Grammy-winning producer Neil Kernon (NEVERMORE, QUEENSRŸCHE, CANNIBAL CORPSE, HALL & OATES, NILE).

In order to get this project off to a great start, GHOST SHIP OCTAVIUS is reaching out to fans to help fund the album by use of popular crowd-funding site Kickstarter. The campaign has been launched and offers pre-sales of the album, merchandise and many other perks, including one-on-one Skype video lessons, guest performances on your band’s album, being drawn into the band’s album artwork, and more. Pledge here, but hurry, the pledging period ends in 30 days.

Guitarist Christopher Amott (ARMAGEDDON, ex-ARCH ENEMY) last year announced his departure from GHOST SHIP OCTAVIUS in order to focus entirely on making a new ARMAGEDDON album.

Comments No Comments »

Ghost Ship Octavius is a progressive metal band formed in 2012 by lead guitarist Matt Wicklund (God Forbid, HIMSA, Warrel Dane), drummer Van Williams (Nevermore, Ashes of Ares, Pure Sweet Hell) and vocalist Adon Fanion. Take a listen to the band’s new track “Alive” via a lyric video below

The post Ghost Ship Octavius Posts Lyric Video, Launches Kickstarter Campaign appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

“The Right To Rock” podcast recently conducted an interview with former FACE DOWN and current THE RESISTANCE/THE HAUNTED frontman Marco Aro. You can now listen to the chat using the audio playerbelow.

THE RESISTANCE‘s full-length debut, “Scars”, was released on May 10 in Europe and May 14 in the U.S. via earMUSIC, the Hamburg, Germany-based international rock label which is part of Edel Group. The 12-track CD is reminiscent of the good old days of Swedish death metal back in the 1980s/1990s when bands like ENTOMBED, GRAVE and DISMEMBER proved how insanely brutal and relentless, yet immensely captivating and technically adept extreme music can be. Well, apparently some established Swedish musicians did miss them, so they put things right: They brought back the old Swedish death metal.

“If you listen to ENTOMBED‘s ‘Left Hand Path’ today, it still blows everything away. And it’s over 20 years old,” says THE RESISTANCE/ex-IN FLAMES guitarist Jesper Strömblad. “[It’s] just awesome death metal!”

THE RESISTANCE released its debut EP, “Rise From Treason”, in North America on January 29 via earMUSIC. The EP was made available on CD, limited-edition seven-inch vinyl and as a digital download.

The band last year parted ways with bassist Alex Losbäck Holstad (ex-DESPITE, DECAMERON, CARDINAL SIN) and recruited Claudio Oyarzo, the guitarist in the progressive metal band MINORA, as its new bassist.

The song “Eye For An Eye” was originally made available on the sampler CD that was distributed to the subscribers of Sweden’s Close-Up Magazine in the August 2011 issue.

THE RESISTANCE made its live debut on October 8, 2011 at Club Distortion in Stockholm, Sweden.

THE RESISTANCE‘s lineup is as follows:

* Marco Aro (FACE DOWN, THE HAUNTED) – Vocals
* Jesper Strömblad (IN FLAMES, DIMENSION ZERO) – Guitar
* Glenn Ljungström (IN FLAMES, DIMENSION ZERO) – Guitar
* Chris Barkensjö (CARNAL FORGE, GODSIC, GRAVE) – Drums
* Claudio Oyarzo (MINORA) – Bass

Strömblad quit IN FLAMES in February 2010 in order to continue receiving treatment for his alcohol addiction.

Interview (audio):

Comments No Comments »

Montreal, QC’s steroid induced progressive metal band Unbeing is proud to announce the re-release of the group’s debut self-titled album on October 1st via BLK COQ Music/Believe Digital. The following press release was also issued: “Originally released in 2011, the album spanning 40 minutes of instrumental offerings that screams: There is no turning back, there is no mercy, there is only Unbeing, is ready to be received again as a testimony to the group’s composing capabilities. Co-produced and remixed by Martin Albert and remastered by Ryan Morey (Arcade Fire, Priestess, Half Moon Run), the 2013 re-release will be sold digitally on all major online retailers along as a limited edition vinyl.” The track listing is as follows: 1

The post Unbeing To Re-Issue Debut Self-Titled Album appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

NY based progressive metal band Vaura has completed work on new album “The Missing.” Profound Lore Records comments: “Following last year’s ‘Selenelion’ release (Weird Records), Vaura (comprised of vocalist/guitarist Josh Strawn from Religious To Damn, guitarist Kevin Hufnagel from Gorguts and Dysrhythmia, bassist Toby Driver of Kayo Dot and Maudlin Of The Well, and drummer Charlie Schmid) take their unique style of combining progressive metal and classic ‘80s goth/darkwave into more defined and dense territory with ‘The Missing.’ “With a sound and aesthetic influenced by the darker and more brooding moments of the aforementioned styles when they came to fruition in the ‘80s, Vaura also incorporate sounds also reminiscing the likes of post punk, early ‘90s indie rock, and shoegaze respectively along with some intricate moments found on ‘The Missing’ that even hark back to the heyday of classic-era Queensryche and ‘Grace Under Pressure’ era Rush. “As the next proper step succeeding ‘Selenelion,’ with ‘The Missing’ (captured at The Thousand Caves by Colin Marston) VAURA solidify and define their sound even more by becoming one of the more distinct and creative bands from the NY area.” To officially be released October 29th, the track listing for “The Missing” is as follows: 1.

The post Vaura Finishes Work On New Album “The Missing” appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

New York avant-garde progressive metal band Castevet has completed work on new album “Obsian,” the follow-up to the “Mounds Of Ash” debut. The album will see release on October 15th via Profound Lore.

The post Castevet Finishes Work On New Album “Obsian” appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

Join Cary G. as he interviews the lead vocalist from the Israeli progressive metal band, Orphaned Land, in a brand new interview episode of MSRcast. Listen as Kobi touches on many topics including the new album, "All Is One", working with Jens Bogren, the breaking down of barriers with metal music, touring plans, his ultimate …

The post MSRcast 139: Orphaned Land Interview appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Welcome to episode 136 of MSRcast where we interview the progressive metal band, Oceans Of Slumber. Hailing from Houston, Tx and featuring members of Demoniacal Genuflection, Ingurgitate, and Insect Warfare, prepare for an auditory journey into multiple styles of metal melded into one piece of metal that will rip you to shreds. We sat down …

The post MSRcast 136: Oceans Of Slumber Interview appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Greek progressive metal band Until Rain announced that the band will release its sophomore full length LP “Anthem to Creation” on August 23, 2013 via Escape Music. “Anthem to Creation’ was mixed and mastered at Fascination street studios by Jens Bogren (Symphony X/Opeth/Paradise Lost).

The post Sophomore Album “Anthem To Creation” Announced By Until Rain appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

The iconic progressive metal band will return to support their upcoming self-titled album.

Comments No Comments »