Posts Tagged “Progressive Music”

Fates Warning have been the rock on which heavier progressive music was founded since their inception in 1982, and show no signs of slowing down with their 2013 release Darkness In A Different Light. To put it plainly, Darkness In A Different Light is everything older Fates Warning fans would want in a record without repeating …

The post Album Review: FATES WARNING Darkness In A Different Light appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Fans of melodic, progressive hard rock have been waiting a long time for this: “I Will Survive”, the new album by SEVENTH KEY, and the first new CD of studio recordings since 2004’s “The Raging Fire”. Spearheaded by longtime KANSAS bassist/vocalist Billy Greer and guitarist/keyboardist Mike Slamer (ex-CITY BOY, STREETS, STEELHOUSE LANDE), they are joined by drummer Chet Wynd and a slew of special guests.

“I think the new CD is maybe a little bit more hard-edged and a little more progressive,” says Greer, who remains an active member of KANSAS. ” I was also able to enlist my KANSAS bandmate and friend, David Ragsdale, to play on four tracks. That, in itself, added a whole new element to the album.”

Formed in 2001 as a side project for Greer and Slamer (the two had played together in the early 1980s in STREETS with KANSAS vocalist Steve Walsh), SEVENTH KEY released an acclaimed self-titled debut but then went dormant again due to the member’s previous commitments. The group resurfaced in 2004 with the compelling album “The Raging Fire” and a live CD/DVD the following year.

“I Will Survive”, with its prophetic title, re-establishes Greer and Slamer‘s commitment to SEVENTH KEY.

“I wanted to do more music with Mike,” said Greer. “We have a great friendship and we have a strong work ethic. When we get in the studio, things seem to always click.”

Part of SEVENTH KEY‘s musical magic comes in its ability to effectively blend both melodic hard rock and intricate progressive music. They deliver powerful songs and production values that always include big sonic landscapes.

“I Will Survive” is scheduled for release on Frontiers Records on November 1 in Europe and November 5 in North America and will include the following songs:

01. I Will Survive
02. Lay In On The Line
03. I See You There
04. It’s Just A State Of Mind
05. Sea Of Dreams
06. Time And Time Again
07. When Love Sets You Free
08. Down
09. The Only One
10. What Love’s Supposed To Be
11. I Want It All


* Billy Greer: Bass, Lead Vocals
* Mike Slamer: Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
* Chet Wynd: Drums

Special Guests:

* David Ragsdale: Violin
* Billy Trudel, Terry Brock, Bobby Capps, Barry “The Blade” Johnson: Background Vocals
* David Manion: Keyboards


Comments No Comments »

Ayreon haven't done anything since their 2008 record 01011001, but apparently it hasn't been all silence on their part! Arjen has revealed that there will be a new record in 2013! Ayreon isn't so much a band as it is Lucassen getting everyone that matters in progressive music to come together for a record, which is apparently …

The post AYREON Announce The Theory Of Everything For A 2013 Release appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Progressive Nation is hitting the high seas in 2014! The inaugural sailing will occur on February 18th – 22nd 2014 on the luxurious Norwegian Pearl heading from Miami to Great Stirrup Cay and Freeport, Bahamas. The lineup includes: Transatlantic, Portnoy Sheehan Macalpine Sherinian, Jon Anderson, Adrian Belew’s Power Trio, Devin Townsend, King’s X, Spock’s Beard, The Flower Kings, Pain Of Salvation, Riverside, Animals As Leaders, The Safety Fire, Tony Harnell & Bumblefoot, Bigelf, Beardfish, The Dear Hunter, Haken, Jolly And Next To None Progressive Nation founder Mike Portnoy elaborates: “In 2008 & 2009, I created a touring package called ‘Progressive Nation’ and with Dream Theater headlining, we did three full tours (two in North America and one in Europe) that showcased a variety of bands that embraced the spirit and musicality of progressive music. “Well after a 5 year hiatus, I have decided to resurrect Progressive Nation and this time we are taking it to the seas! But rather than a 4 band bill like previous Progressive Nation tours, we have expanded the bill to OVER A DOZEN of today’s greatest progressive bands, musicians and artists! (and there may be one or two more still to be confirmed) “Myself and my former DT bandmate Derek Sherinian have teamed up with Sixthman (who have done incredibly successful cruises with Kid Rock, Lynyrd Skynyrd and the annual Kiss Cruise to name a few) as well as our friends at InsideOut Music and look forward to a very successful inaugural launch of Progressive Nation at Sea Feb 18th thru 22nd 2014

The post Progressive Nation At Sea 2014 Details Announced appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

InsideOut Music has teamed up with Mike Portnoy, Derek Sherinian and Sixthman to bring Progressive Nation to the high seas in 2014!

The inaugural sailing will take place February 18-22, 2014 on the luxurious Norwegian Pearl heading from Miami to Great Stirrup Cay and Freeport, Bahamas.

Comments No Comments »

L.A.’s Warbringer has been locked away in The Omen Room studio with producer Steve Evetts (Dillinger Escape Plan, Sepultura, Symphony X) for the past few months and is about to complete “IV: Empires Collapse.” “IV: Empires Collapse” is a collective work between the five band members and the producers. “Musically, all five of us brought something for the rest of the group to work off of and we were all a part of chiseling away at the ideas,” says drummer Carlos Cruz of the recording process. “Having five band members with eclectic tastes in music from Crust Punk to Progressive music and everything in between brought about new musical directions for the material.” The album will be released October 15th, 2013 via Century Media Records

The post Warbringer Announces “IV: Empires Collapse” Album Release appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

Anathema: toasting five years of Kscope!

Has any other band in history evolved so substantially and yet remained so invigoratingly brilliant as Anathema? The Scouse doom and gothic metal innovators have become one of the most soul-stirring, heart-wrenching ambient rock bands of our time, with their last two albums in particular – 2009′s flawless We’re Here Because We’re Here and last year’s similarly gorgeous Weather Systems – becoming instant classics.

Tonight, they head to the London Garage to complete a two-night celebration of the five year history of Kscope records – a label that has continued to seek out the most intelligent, emotionally-driven and thought-provoking music around, spreading the love for the likes of Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree, Ulver, The Pineapple Thief and many more. They continue to be a beacon for awesome, modern progressive music, and tonight will doubtless be a fine way to toast their achievements. Cheers, guys!

Comments No Comments »

Djent bands tend to label themselves as progressive music without any real warrant to do so. The "D word" also evokes a very specific sound that caters to a dwindling audience. That being said, Caricature take the remnants of a boring genre, combine it with progressive tendencies and a little pop flavoring on the top, and serve …

The post Album Review: CARICATURE The Sound Of One Man's World Collapsing appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Devin Townsend: bonkers, brilliant, all the b’s

TesseracT, Muse, Katatonia, Opeth and Devin Townsend are among the names nominated in this year’s Progressive Music Awards!

Voting’s open right now, so go get your geek on by voting here!

Comments No Comments »

Public voting is now underway.

Comments No Comments »