Posts Tagged “Supergroup”

Max Cavalera, Troy Sanders, Greg Puciato and Dave Elitch officially enter the studio.

Comments No Comments »

It's been almost a year since we've discussed the supergroup featuring Soulfly's Max Cavalera, The Dillinger Escape Plan's Greg Puciato and Mastodon's Troy Sanders. We initially broke the story when Puciato revealed to us that the project was in the works. We've written a lot about it in the past, but it's been about a year since any news surfaced. All three of …

The post MAX CAVALERA / GREG PUCIATO / TROY SANDERS Supergroup Begins Recording appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

The as-yet-unnamed project featuring Max Cavalera (SOULFLY, ex-SEPULTURA), THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN frontman Greg Puciato, Dave Elitch (ex-THE MARS VOLTA) and Troy Sanders (MASTODON) has entered Fortress Studio in Los Angeles, California with producer Josh Wilbur (LAMB OF GOD, GOJIRA) to begin recording its debut album for a 2014 release.

Talking to U.K.’s Terrorizer magazine en route to the studio yesterday, Max said: “It’s going to be cool. We just don’t have a name yet. The name is a pain in the ass to find a name, but the music is great. We have been working on this for two years.

He continued: “Greg approached me kinda like how Alex [Newport; FUDGE TUNNEL] approached me to do NAILBOMB in that he was really, really trying to get me to do this project. I told him already I was pretty busy doing SOULFLY and CAVALERA CONSPIRACY [and] I was not really looking for an extra thing, but he was pretty insistent and then I just gave up and was, like, ‘Let’s fucking do this!’

“It started with just me and Greg and then we got Dave Elitch — he’s an amazing drummer — and then Greg knew Troy and we asked him to be the bassist so it kind of became a supergroup all of a sudden. We jammed a couple of times and the last jam we did it sounded killer; the songs are really powerful real heavy. It’s hard to describe but I think the coolest thing about this project is that all three of us are going to sing on every song.”

Earlier this year, Puciato told Noisecreep about how the project started: “We were at a DEFTONES show in L.A. at the Palladium and we were talking backstage about old thrash metal, punk and hardcore and we found ourselves referencing many of the same things and we were like, ‘Fuck, man, we should make a record together and do it as a one-off like NAILBOMB.’ A month later, I talked to Max again and he said we should actually do that.

“No one in metal makes collaborative records like people in jazz and hip-hop do. It doesn’t have to be like a band that you’re launching from the ground that you go on tour with. There is something to be said for collaboration and throwing yourself out there and learning something new from working with different people. Dave was a buddy of mine already and he’s a phenomenal drummer. He was the first person I thought of to play drums.

“We [DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN] spent a lot of time touring with MASTODON and Troy seemed like a really obvious fit. We had a really easy time writing. We can’t release it right behind the DILLINGER record and we also have to figure out when the MASTODON record is coming out and the same for whatever Max is doing next. It’s going to come out. It’s just going to be a matter of logistics as to when.”

Comments No Comments »

Some of the biggest names in metal have lined up to form a supergroup called the Metal Allstars.

Comments No Comments »

Featuring former members of heavy metal royalty in Iced Earth and Nevermore, Ashes Of Ares make for a pretty solid supergroup. Who’d make it into frontman Matt Barlow’s fantasy supergroup, though?! We ask the hard questions so you don’t have to.

The band’s self-titled debut album is out September 9 via Nuclear Blast. Order it here:

Comments No Comments »

Progressive supergroup Portnoy, Sheehan, MacAlpine, Sherinian has uploaded an entire song from its upcoming “Live In Tokyo” Blu-ray disc, which is due out in September. Included in the set are “Shy Boy” from Sheehan’s band Talas, MacAlpine’s “The Stranger”, Sherinian’s “Apocalypse 1470 B.C.,” (the featured track below), and Dream Theater’s “A Change Of Seasons: The Crimson Sunrise”

The post Portnoy, Sheehan, MacAlpine, Sherinian Posts Track From “Live In Tokyo” appeared first on Daily Heavy Metal News.

Comments No Comments »

Metal supergroup Corrections House are taking a very DIY approach to making music as the band has recorded their own debut album, and will now release it on October 29 via Scott Kelley's Neurot Recordings. The debut album, entitled Last City Zero, is a nearly fifty minute long opus that was recorded entirely by the …

The post CORRECTIONS HOUSE (feat. members of EYEHATEGOD, NEUROSIS) To Release Last City Zero In October appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

The Defiled

We got the Defiled lads to name us their ultimate supergroup. This shit isn’t easy…

Awesome new Defiled album Daggers lands on August 5 via Nuclear Blast.

Daggers Tracklisting

1. Sleeper (4:00)
2. Unspoken (4:05)
3. Saints And Sinners (3:49)
4. As I Drown (4:41)
5. Porcelain (3:23)
6. New Approach (3:09)
7. Fragments Of Hope (4:30)
8. The Infected (4:01)
9. The Morning After (4:14)
10. Five Minutes (4:38)
11. No Place Like Home (4:13)
12.I Destroy What Destroy Me (4:15)*
13.Self Under Siege (3:25)*
* = bonus track

Pre-order Daggers

You can see The Defiled lads tear it up alongside Motionless In White and Glamour of The Kill on the following dates this Autumn:

12 Sept // Dublin Academy 1
13 Sept // Belfast Mandela Hall
14 Sept // Glasgow Garage
15 Sept // Newcastle O2 Academy 2
16 Sept // Manchester Academy
18 Sept // Leeds Cockpit
19 Sept // Nottingham Rescue Rooms
20 Sept // Birmingham O2 Academy 2
21 Sept // London The Forum
22 Sept // Bristol The Fleece
23 Sept // Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms

Buy tickets:

Comments No Comments »

The release date has been set for the debut album from Scar The Martyr, the new supergroup led by Slipknot drummer Joey Jordison, for October 1st via Roadrunner Records (of course.) We have all the deets!  The album title has still not been announced, but the press release that is being passed around says that the …

The post Joey Jordison's SCAR THE MARTYR To Release Debut Album In October appeared first on Metal Injection.

Comments No Comments »

Thom Yorke’s supergroup say streaming is bad for new music, and that artists like Pink Floyd would never survive in the Spotify era.

Comments No Comments »